The Walter R. Peterson
Education and Public Service Award

About the Walter R. Peterson Award

The Walter R. Peterson Education and Public Service Award is presented to an individual whose contributions best exemplify the values of public service and dedication to higher education.

Walter R. Peterson, a noted New Hampshire native who served in the New Hampshire legislature and as Governor, also devoted a significant portion of his career to higher education. Governor Peterson served as President of Franklin Pierce College, as Interim President of the University of New Hampshire and as Interim Commissioner of the NH Community Technical Colleges (now known as the Community College System of New Hampshire). He believed in the importance of access and affordability to quality post-secondary education for all of New Hampshire’s residents and he knew that a well-trained and educated workforce served the best interests of and future of the State.

Prior recipients:

  • 2012 Governor John Lynch
  • 2013 Senator Jeanne Shaheen
  • 2014 Barbara Couch
  • 2016 Alex Ray
  • 2019 Paul Holloway
  • 2022 Jeremy Hitchcock

Walter R. Peterson

Questions? Please contact Tim Allison

Tim Allison
Executive Director